National Suicide Prevention Trial

The Australian Government is supporting the implementation and evaluation of twelve suicide prevention trial sites across Australia as part of the National Suicide Prevention Trial.

The trials are led by Primary Health Networks (PHNs) and aim to improve the current evidence of effective suicide prevention strategy at a local level for at-risk population groups. Each trial site will run for four years from 2016-17 to 2019-20 and receive Australian Government funding of up to $4 million.

PHNs who have a trial site within their region are actively engaged with local stakeholders and have formed community working groups, as well as commissioning activities such as suicide prevention training, media campaigns and follow-up support services.

Selection of each trial site was determined with consideration for infrastructure and services available within the region.

Factors considered for selection of trial sites included:

  • their relationship with other suicide prevention activities within Australia
  • the rate of suicide death within the region
  • the Government’s election commitments to metal health and suicide prevention in the region
  • participation in the Primary Health Network Mental Health Reform Lead Site Project (for North Coast NSW, North Western Melbourne, Perth South and Brisbane North).

Details of each trial site including date of implentation and target poplation are listed in the table below:

New South Wales

North Coast
Sub-regions- Clarence Valley LGA
- Tweed/Byron LGA
- Lismore LGA
- Kempsey LGA
Target populationsAt risk individuals who have attempted suicide and have presented at the emergency department.
Link North Coast Suicide Prevention Trial

Western NSW
Sub-regionsRemote Western NSW, including:
- Bourke LGA
- Brewarrina LGA
- Cobar LGA
- Lachlan LGA
- Walgett LGA
- Wedding LGA
Target populations- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
- Men in farming and mining
- Youth, particularly Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
Link Western New South Wales Suicide Prevention Trial

Northern Territory

Sub-regionsGreater Darwin region
Target populationsAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
Link Darwin Suicide Prevention Trial


Central QLD/Wide Bay Sunshine Coast
Sub-regions- Maryborough
- North Burnett
- Gympie
Target populations- Men and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People
Link Central Qld, Wide Bay, Sunshine Coast Suicide Prevention Trial

Brisbane North
Sub-regionsEntire Brisbane North PHN region
Target populations- Young and middle-aged males
- LGBTI people
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
Link Brisbane North Suicide Prevention Trial

Northern Queensland
Sub-regions- Townsville region
- York Peninsula
Target populations- Ex Australian Defence Force members and their families (Townsville region)
- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples (York Peninsula)
Link Northern Queensland Suicide Prevention Trial

South Australia

Country SA
Sub-regions- Whyalla
- Port Lincoln
- Port Pirie
- Port Augusta
Target populations- Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
- Men
- Youth
Link Country SA Suicide Prevention Trial


Sub-regions- Launceston
- Cradle Coast (Burnie LGA, Central Coast LGA, Devonport LGA)
- Break of Day
Target populations- Men aged 40 to 64 years
- Men and women aged 65+ (sub group 65 to 74 years, sub group 75 to 84 years)
LinkTasmania Suicide Prevention Trial


North Western Melbourne
Sub-regionsWhole PHN region
Target populations- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Intersex (LGBTI) people, including young people
- Men
Link North Western Melbourne Trial Site

Western Australia

Perth South
Sub-regions- Rockingham
- Waroona
- Mandurah
- Kwinana
- Murray
Target populationsYouth
Link Perth South Suicide Prevention Trial

Mid-west WA (Country WA PHN)
Sub-regions- Geraldton
- Carnarvon
- Meekatharra
- Mullewa
- Mt Magnet
- Morawa
Target populationsMen aged 25 to 54 years, in particular men working in primary industry, fishermen, farmers and miners and the building industry.
Link Mid-West WA Suicide Prevention Trial

Sub-regions- Broome
- Bidyadanga
- Dampier Peninsula (including Beagle Bay, Lomboadina/Djarindjin and One Arm Point)
- Derby
- Fitzroy Crossing
- Halls Creek (including Warmun)
- Kununurra
- Wyndham and the Kutjunka region (including Balgo, Billiluna and Mulan)
Target populationsAboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples
LinkKimberly Suicide Prevention Trial